The best railway innovations will be awarded at RailTech Awards dinner

Annemarie Bruning

The latest railway innovations play a big role at RailTech Europe. There were several Innovation Award-ceremonies during the RailTech Awards dinner on 28 March 2017 at the Janskerk in Utrecht:



Here you can find an overview of all nominees and vote for the RailTech Innovation Public Award:


There are several Innovation Awards who will be announced during the RailTech Awards Dinner:

  • Innovation Awards; best innovative product / service (5 categories)
  • Young Innovation Award; best innovative product / service by persons under the age of 30 years
  • Public Innovation Award; best innovative product / service according to the public
  • Startup Award; best innovative product / service in the Startup Category
  • Kickstart Award; best startup innovation according to the public

Rail Awards Dinner

The RailTech Europe 2017 Awards ceremony will take place during the RailTech Awards-dinner on 28 March 2017 at the Janskerk in Utrecht. Access to the RailTech Awards dinner is included with a RailTech Europe 2017 Conference ticket or by invitation. Dresscode: Business attire


  • 19:00: Church doors open
  • 19:30: Start dinner & live music
  • 21:30: Startup Award Ceremony
  • 21:35: Kickstart Award Ceremony
  • 21:45: Innovation Awards Ceremony
  • 22:15: Public Innovation Award
  • 22:30: Live music DJ & saxophonist.
  • 23:30: End of programme



Janskerkhof 26, Utrecht


There are seven categories for the Innovation Awards:

  • Infrastructure Innovation Award
  • Rolling Stock Innovation Award
  • Technology Innovation Award
  • Public Transport Innovation Award
  • Young Innovation Award
  • Rail Cargo Innovation Award
  • Public Innovation Award

Jury members

A competent jury, will judge the entries and announce the nominations. The jury members include:

  • Dr. Erwin Abbink, Managing Consultant Innovation (Netherlands Railways NS)
  • Dennis Schut, Research & Innovation Manager (UIC)
  • Prof. dr. ir. Rolf Dollevoet (Technical University Delft)
  • Chris Verstegen, Manager Innovation (Dutch Infrastructure Manager ProRail)
  • Dr. Matthias Landgraf (Technical University of Graz)
  • Dr. ir. Niels van Oort, Assistant Professor Public Transport (Technical University Delft)
  • Cor G.A. Hoenders, Director (Rail Cargo Information Netherlands)

The RailTech Europe 2017 Innovation Awards are powered by:


The Rail Cargo Innovation Award is supported by:

Startup Award

Please see this page for more information about the Startup Award.